I am so sorry, Delilah!

Ruchi Nirmal
2 min readJan 29, 2022

--

Wherever you are, I hope you are happy. LOL!

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I’ve been an introvert my entire life. When other kids used to play together in the park, I was scooped up in my room.

Doing some pretty dark shit. Kidding! haha

It was just my peaceful escape from the world.

What did I do in my alone time back then? You think…

Play this cool game. Well according to me it was really cool.

You see, I had an obsession with TV dramas my mum used to watch where there was a handsome rich guy falling in love with a poor little good girl.

And no, I wasn’t into their love story. At all. It was the guy’s life that used to fascinate me.

SOOO… Back to my game

I pretended to be a rich busy tycoon running a huge business and cracking cool deals.

I used to sit on a kid’s chair with a table that had cartoons all over it. On my table was a fake phone with some blank paper, my elder sister’s books and lots of pens.

My so-called busy work involved copying text from my sister’s books to blank papers. Which was a very complex task for my age given I was only 6.

My mom took this seriously too. So she knocked before entering and asked “May I come in, ma’am?”

I said “You may. Keep my chocolate milkshake on the desk and close the door while you go out. Thank you!”

And my mom just used to smile at me.

Now, playing this game was fun and all but it started getting monotonous. So I hired a fake secretary for myself.

Her name was Delilah. She was a nerdy dork.

All I used to do was shout at her saying “you’ll not be excused for coming late next time” or “what will you do if all your work will be done by me?”

I swear I didn’t mean to…

Really! I swear on my 100-dollar shoes (that’s a big deal in India…. OKAY!)

Maybe it was because of the influence of Tv dramas.

Fast forward to 2022, after years of not remembering about it. I got reminded of this memory a few days back.

So I just wanna say,

Delilah, I am really sorry!

Wherever you are I hope you’re happy.

Here’s a blank check for you. Enjoy!

Contact me here to get it: ruchirich@plscomebacktowork.com

--

--

Ruchi Nirmal

Diagonally parked in the parallel universe. Optimist. Reader. Goal Digger. Follow me on twitter @ruchinirmal33